Tomato & Pesto Gnocchi

I made up a new gnocchi recipe and thought I would share it as it tasted delicious!

Here’s how it looks when it is finished:

DSC08635

You will need:
– Onions
– Garlic
– Pesto
– Passata (tomato puree)
– Grated cheese

Firstly, finely chop up onions, place in a pan on low heat and cook until clear. Add chopped or pressed garlic.

DSC08621

Stir in the garlic and leave to simmer for a few minutes before adding the passata. Make sure the onions are soft.

DSC08622

Next add black pepper to taste.

DSC08625

Add cheese to the sauce

DSC08628

Add in the pesto. I used 2 table spoons but you can add more/less for your preference.

DSC08630

Leave the sauce to simmer.

DSC08632

Boil water in the kettle and add to a pan. When brought to the boil add the gnocchi.

DSC08631

The gnocchi sinks to the bottom. When it floats to the top it is cooked.

DSC08634

Strain the gnocchi. Add them to a bowl, cover with the pesto and tomato sauce. Add extra cheese on top.

DSC08638

What is your favourite recipe that uses pesto?

Love Lou xoxox

14 thoughts on “Tomato & Pesto Gnocchi

  1. I may have to try this. I think it is funny that your tomato products come in a box, we still use cans for most everything. Gnocchi remind me of my mother’s potato dumplings. She made them only on holidays because it took so long to make them. I’ve only done them once, but my oldest sister still makes them.

    • It is quite weird! Ours come in cartons and jars (I think sometimes tins too!). They are basically potato dumplings, so delicious. Makes me hungry thinking about it! 🙂 xoxox

  2. I made something really similar to this but I totally cheat and just use marinara sauce! I might have to try this though because it looks super easy and just as delicious!

    -S

Leave a Reply

