Reading: Lillan’s Story

I have been putting off writing this review for over a month as I have been feeling totally uninspired by this book. It’s not that it was a terrible book but it just wasn’t great.

At first it was very hard to get in to and I nearly gave up as I found the ‘ye olde’ writing style annoying and sometimes unreadable but I would not let it beat me (I have to finish a book when I have started it! I don’t know if you are the same?). As the story developed the writing style did improve and I found Lillian to be a likeable character. However, the story just seemed to be missing something, I’m just not sure what? Additionally, I found it impossible to try to remember who all of the different people were and their names; I kept finding myself  having to back track to find who they were. As a few other reviewers have said, the way the story jumps around is also quite irritating. The ending was a disappointment, letting me feel like maybe I should have given up after the first few pages.

Lillians Story by Sally Patricia Gardner (link)

It was free when I downloaded it but it is now £2.56 in the Kindle Store. I would recommended it to try for free but not as a paid book. However, this is just my opinion and Lillians Story has a lot of really good reviews on Amazon so if you fancy it don’t let me put you off!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Love Lou xoxox

4 thoughts on “Reading: Lillan’s Story

  1. I need to read every book twice, just to get fully conversant with it 🙂 And I find that sort of writing irritating too. I read a book in that sort of style recently and I’d probably give it 5 or 6 out of 10, but I don’t know whether to review it on my blog or not, because it’s so mediocre – I can’t seriously criticise it and I can’t praise it much either!

    • Yeah, it’s the same with films as well, you miss so much the first time and you don’t even realise it! I’m glad it’s not just me who doesn’t like that writing style! Maybe you could just do a small review, kind of like an overview? I didn’t want to write up this book review either as it was negative xoxox

Leave a Reply

