Glasses Recycling

If like me, you have loads of old pair of glasses lying around heres some good things you can do with them.

Some of my old glasses

Some of my old glasses

Crafting:
– Take the lenses out and use them for costumes/dressing up (or donate to a theatre for the same purpose).
– Paint the lenses and use them as a statement piece in your house or garden.
– Put them in a hinged display frame or boudoir box for decoration.
– Stick them to a plant pot, bowl, box, etc for decoration. You could always add a nose and mouth underneath.
– Use them in decorative gift wrap or scrap booking.
– Use on a snowman.

Recycling/Donating:
– The World Health Organization estimates 153 million people around the world have poor eyesight due to uncorrected errors such as near-sightedness, far-sightedness, and astigmatism. These can be easily diagnosed, measured and corrected with spectacles, yet millions of people in developing countries do not have access to these basic services (link for information). Here are a few places you can send your old glasses where they can make a difference to someone else’s quality of life.
– Specsavers and Vision Express now accept old glasses for Vision Aid Overseas to help people who cannot afford glasses.
Find more information on Vision Aid Overseas and where to take your glasses here.
– Local opticians usually also accept glasses to recycle in developing countries.
– OneSight is an American website I found that also recycle glasses for a good cause (more info here).
– Lions Clubs International is another great cause that send your old and unwanted to developing countries where they will have the greatest impact (more info here).

Leave a comment if you know any other crafty ways to reuse glasses or any great causes to send them to!

Love Lou xoxox

38 thoughts on “Glasses Recycling

  1. This is a great idea 🙂 I love glasses. About causes I don’t know but one of my friends was suggesting me do this thing about clothes and I guess it can be applied to glasses as well. She was suggesting to organize a trade day. Basically everyone brings stuff they don’t use anymore and we exchange them among us.
    But yeah, the best idea would be to give them to a humanitarian organization or church.

    • Me too but I haven’t for ages so I have loads I need to take! My vision is awful too! I can’t even see the massive ‘A’ at the opticians! I couldn’t imagine being without my glasses either so it’s good they can go to a new home 🙂

    • Thank you! More people would probably recycle if they were aware of how to and how it can help others. Hopefully this will help inspire everyone to dig out their old glasses and give them to people in need 🙂 Great job 🙂 xoxox

  2. I have seen drop off boxes set up at the Eye Center of a few Super Walmarts around here. Can’t remember what it said but, they definitely donate old glasses to those in need.
    Cute idea to use them to decorate too – They might look cute on those tree faces that people have on tree trunks 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing info on how to donate old glasses. What a great way to de-clutter and help at the same time!

    I have a strange use for glasses. I’ve always looked about 10 years younger than my age which people think is great unless you work in a field where people have a hard taking you seriously if you look too young, so after spending all the time and money to get LASIK corrective surgery, I ended up having to wear non-prescription glasses to appear older lol.

  4. Thanks for the info. I have a box full of old glasses. I’ve decided to send to the Lions Club in the area for donation. Appreciate you visiting and the like of my post “Clear to Travel”.

  5. Oooooh! I love the idea of donating them…but this one made me smile (and is TOTALLY something I’d do): “Stick them to a plant pot, bowl, box, etc for decoration. You could always add a nose and mouth underneath.”

    I have had the same glasses for over 10 years and recently found http://www.zennioptical.com. Now I have 3 new pair of glasses for 1/3 what I last spent for 1. Yay! Thanks for the ideas!

Leave a Reply

