Lost In Lace…

Last year in February some friends and I visited the Lost in Lace exhibition at the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery. Most of the lace was stunning so I thought I would share some picturesΒ (visit the website here). It amazes me that some of this lace is over 100 years old and still so beautiful! If only the old pieces lace could talk, I bet it would have some interesting stories to share.

DSC01233

DSC01234

DSC01239

DSC01242

DSC01251

DSC01256

DSC01257

DSC01263

6

3

5

7

My friend Dani (right) and I (left) at the exhibition

10

Wondering the Museum

This exhibition made want to go and buy loads of lace for my sewing stash! Do you share a love of lace? Did you see the exhibition?

Afterwards we went for some delicious pancakes!

1

Love Lou xoxox

43 thoughts on “Lost In Lace…

  1. I as well have a fascination with lace. I was given a gift of an antique handkerchief that was edged in very ornate and delicate lace a few weeks ago and it rekindled my desire to collect. Great post.

  2. I agree, lace is beautiful. I’ve never see it used in this way. I wish I could so to the show.
    Also, I forgot to add Vastly Curious’ web page. It’s up now, if you want to see more of her pictures.

  3. I am in a lace loving phase atm, but then again think I’ve always had a fascination with the stuff. Bought a red/orange top that looks like the red piece in the exhibition.
    Would like to see that exhibition, great photos!

  4. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to
    assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I
    achievement you access consistently fast.

  5. I love lace. it’s completely different than my work – light where I’m heavy, tensile where I’m compressive, transparent where I am opaque. I think the thing that draws me to it, though, is the DETAIL. the sense of laborious connectivity and interrelatedness… amazing.

  6. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Lost In Lace& .

Leave a Reply

