Gnocchi & Cheesy Tomato Sauce Recipe

I’m not sure about you but I could eat gnocchi every single day. It is so delicious! I found a pack of gnocchi in Asda so I thought I would share a tutorial. I haven’t tried to make gnocchi from scratch but hopefully I will when I can find a good recipe! Have you made gnocchi from scratch?

DSC06879

So here’s what you will need:
– Passata (pureed tomatoes)
– Onions
– Garlic
– Black Pepper
– Basil
– Cheese (any kind, I use cheddar)
– Gnocchi pack

Here’s what it looks like when it is finished:

DSC06908

Firstly, chop up the onion and garlic. If you would like a smooth sauce blend them in a food processor. Put them into a pan and cook them until clear/soft.

While the onions and garlic are cooking grate some cheese for the sauce and to top when served.

DSC06881

When the onions are cooked add in the passata and bring to the boil.

DSC06884

Next add the cheese, basil and black pepper to taste.

DSC06897

As you can see from my sauce I added quite a lot of cheese so the sauce turned lighter in colour.

Leave the sauce to simmer while cooking the gnocchi.

DSC06888

Boil water in a kettle and add to a pan ready to cook the gnocchi. Bring to the boil in the pan and add the gnocchi.

DSC06891

They sink to the bottom when you add them but float to the top when they are cooked. So cool! They take only a few minutes to cook.

DSC06898

Wait until all of the gnocchi have floated to the top before straining them.

DSC06904

Make sure all of the water is strained out and add the gnocchi to bowls/plates. Top with the sauce and a layer of cheese.

DSC06909

DSC06913

If you wish you can brown the cheese on the top or just leave it to melt as I did.

Hope you enjoyed the tutorial! How do you serve gnocchi?

Love Lou xoxox

39 thoughts on “Gnocchi & Cheesy Tomato Sauce Recipe

  1. Thanks for stopping by our blog for a visit. We eat gnocchi on the 29th of each month! And love it. (There are a couple of posts about “Gnocchi Day” on our site). We’ve not ever tried to make it from scratch, but at the B&B in Florence, Italy where we stay, they did…it was not too terribly labor intensive, but you DEFINITELY need to practice to get it right!

  2. You sure like your grated cheese, but I can’t blame you, I do too. Your grated cheese comes in big chunks, curls, or whatever you call them. It looks better than mine, that I buy in bags at my grocery store ^^

  3. Pingback: 2 Liebster Awards! | Lou's Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

