Sewing History Part 3

Some more of my items made from 18-20 years old that I do not have any more. Looking at the pictures I wish I had kept them all! Click on any image to see it full size.

My first jacket! Such a challenge but finished it with help from my Mom. Made from red linen with the coolest spiderweb lining.

DSC09368_large

Front

DSC09374_large

Back

DSC09379_large

Front (open)

DSC09384_large

Full Lining

Black and white musical note dress. I loved this dress but the bust part was never right on me! Might have another go at this pattern now I have more experience.

DSC09166_large

Front

DSC09169_large

Front Bodice

DSC09174_large

Back

Polka dot rayon dress. The fabric was amazing and flowy but again not keen on how this dress looked on me.

DSC09141_large

Front

DSC09148_large

Back

Linen princess dress. This was one of my favourites. Made from ikea fabric. Unfortunately came up way to big so had to sell.

DSC09117_large

Front

DSC09128_large

Back

Floral sundress. This was a quick and easy summer dress to take on holiday.

DSC09097_large

Front

DSC09099_large

Front Bodice

DSC09112_large

Back

1950’s wiggle halter dress. On the dummy this dress looks amazing, but I didn’t feel comfortable wearing it. Personally I thought it showed too much off as I don’t like low cut clothing, but the girl who brought it loved it.

DSC09083_large

Front

DSC09080_large

Front Bodice

DSC09092_large

Back

To be continued in part 4!

Part 1 here

Part 2 here

What is your favourite garment you have ever made?

Love Lou xoxox

40 thoughts on “Sewing History Part 3

  1. I love all the dresses. Seems like your biggest problem is fit. As a seamstress and sort-of tailor, I can sympathize with your dilemma. Keep taking classes of all kinds. My first garment was a prom dress. It turned out well but…never went to a;prom!!! I have a lot of tailored jackets (my specialty) and like you have gotten rid of things and then regretted it. My advice: have lots of room for storage!!! Fashion goes around and around. There are things I wish I still had!!!

    • Thank you! Yeah, I lost quite a lot of weight so most of them did not fit anymore so instead of taking them in I decided to sell them with the intention of making new! Thank you for the advice πŸ™‚ do you have a link to your blog? I would love to check out your projects πŸ™‚ xoxox

      • My blog is Egg in the Middle on wordpress.com. Because I am working on another cookbook, most of my entries are about food. But…I tend to get in modes and I have felt lately that my sewing mode is resurfacing. (I do have one closet full of clothes I’ve made including swim suits and my tailored jackets)!!! I also knit and enjoy all kinds of crafts. Spring is coming soon so I will be working on a farm and canning fruits and vegetables. By the end of summer, I will be ready to get away from food and pursue my other life!!!

  2. First of all, thank you for visiting my blog and the like. I am now following your blog. I like this post and you are a great seamstress. I am impressed by the products I see. I am looking forward to visiting your blog again. Please consider following my blog. Thank you.

    Ta Ta for now, Cathy the Bagg Lady

  3. First, I love to sew, but am horrible at it…but I love it…but oh my… ;oD I admire your talent to create something to WEAR!!!
    Second, I LOVE the polka dot rayon dress (although they are all stunning). Evokes the “Pretty Woman” in my soul!

    • Thank you so much! πŸ˜€ Mine are only good because my Mom helps and makes me do everything properly. Or else I would just rush everything because I get overexcited haha. Seriously, if you love it just keep practicing and you will improve. You are always more critical of things you have made yourself πŸ™‚ xoxox

  4. Pingback: Sewing History Part 4 | Lou's Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

