Sewing History Part 2

So as my sewing progressed I started making better quality items and clothes that I really wanted. Here are some of the clothes I made from 18-20 years old (with help from my mom).

First is a pink musical note dress with a circle skirt. Loved this bright printed cotton.

DSC09192_large

Front

DSC09194_large

Top Front

DSC09204_large

Back

Next an elasticated neck and arm top made for a beach holiday:

DSC09336_large

Front

A pencil dress made from an amazing vintage fabric I stole from my Mom’s stash!

DSC07272_large

Front

DSC07285_large

Back

Winter pinafore dress. I loved the vintage style buttons (I still have a few left!). Usually worn with a long sleeve top underneath.

DSC01697_large

Front

DSC01701_large

Front Close-up

Tulip 50’s style dress. Made from my old quilt cover! So comfy, it was definitely one of my favourites.

DSC00011_large

Front

DSC00035_large

Back

Black and white musical note dress. I wore this dress loads during the summer, it was so easy to wear.

DSC09977_large

Front

DSC00009_large

Back

Red shift dress. Made from linen so very crinkly but fit perfectly and very comfy. Made to wear to take my Nan to ‘Strictly Dancing the Professionals’ at the theatre. Found a pic of me wearing it (sorry its so rubbish!)

DSC06111

Ready for theatre! (2010)

DSC09938_large

Front

DSC09945_large

Back

Easy jersey cotton jumpsuit. Made from a vintage 1970’s pattern given to me by my Aunt. Playsuit made for summer holiday!

DSC06780_large

Front

DSC06772_large

Laid Out Flat

View Part 1 Here

To be continued in part 3! As you can see I seem to mainly make dresses. Do you have a favourite type of garment to make?

Love Lou xoxox

10 thoughts on “Sewing History Part 2

    • Thank you! I am very lucky to have my Mom to help and teach me. I know how you feel though I am trying to teach myself to crochet and knit but it is so hard without help! Mistakes are good though, I made loads too even with help! Looking forward to seeing your future projects πŸ™‚ xoxox

      • I have 2m of Thai silk waiting for the perfect project, but I think it will be some time before I find both the project and the nerve to use the silk!

      • Oh gosh! I know what you mean! My Mom treated me to some silk last year for my Birthday and I can’t bring myself to cut it, I’m terrified haha! Maybe I’ll get round to using it when I’m 100 πŸ˜‰ Let me know if you decide on a project for your silk πŸ™‚ xoxox

  1. Pingback: Sewing History Part 3 | Lou's Labyrinth

  2. Pingback: Sewing History Part 4 | Lou's Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

