Crochet Progress

After much frustration of not being able to learn anything other than chain stitch I finally sat down with my hook, wool and YouTube. There are some great videos on the internet for helping learn to crochet. (here is one of the videos that I used to help with the basics).

So, with the help of YouTube I finally learned how to single, double and treble crochet! Among a few others that I still need to practice!

This is my first real project:

DSC05858I made 2 bows! They are far from perfect but I can only improve with practice (I hope!!). (Click here for bow video tutorial I used).

I am still struggling to figure out how to read patterns so for  now I think I will focus on using YouTube until I am more confident. I cannot wait to to try these when I finally do figure it out! (all from Simply Crochet Issue 1).

DSC05864

DSC05865 DSC05871  DSC05868

DSC05867

Simply Crochet is great as it shows you how to crochet for left handed people. Most tutorials and beginners guides focus purely on teaching right handed people, which can make it more difficult to learn when you are left handed like me!

Are any of you left handed crochet-ers? How do you find it?

DSC05870Do you have any favourite easy patterns you would recommend for beginners?

Love Lou x0x0x

6 thoughts on “Crochet Progress

    • No problem, I have been slacking on my learning the past few weeks so hopefully I will put up some more crochet next week! I could just about do a chain stitch too but with YouTube it is pretty easy to follow and learn new stitches 🙂 Good luck and looking forward to seeing your projects! 🙂 xoxox

  1. Good morning and thank you so much for visiting my blog. I can highly recommend the courses on Craftsy.com. Just be aware that the majority of the teachers are American and will use different stitch names to the UK. It is an incredible resource and I have used them for everything from crochet, to quits to sewing and even cheese making! Take care and keep practicing (I also have a lefty daughter and I know how challenging it can be but apparently if you follow someone by facing them or in a mirror it helps?).

    • Thank you so much for your advice and tips! I really appreciate it. I will have a look at Craftsy. My Mom has been learning so she can help to teach me as well 🙂 xoxox

Leave a Reply

